Flying My Freak Flag

Basic rules for Dungeons & Dragons (the blue box).

The Blue Box

I’ve been playing role-playing games a long time, since 1978. That was the year that my dad thought we should get something else to play besides Risk. He, I, and my brother drove ten miles to the nearest game store to look for something, and ended up picking up the old basic D&D set, the blue box.

We’ve changed systems, but we’ve never stopped, and now my wife and our kids and their cousins all play. I work in academia, so my gaming has always been a sideline. Now I’m in a new game as a player, which is quite a shock to the system, and felt like flying my freak flag high and proud. I feel like I owe it to someone.

“ALMOST CUT MY HAIR”
David Crosby

Almost cut my hair
It happened just the other day
It’s getting’ kinda long
I could have said it was in my way
But I didn’t and I wonder why
I feel like letting my freak flag fly
‘Cause I feel like I owe it to someone

Must be because I had the flu for Christmas
And I’m not feeling up to par
It increases my paranoia
Like looking in my (rear-view) mirror and seeing a police car
But I’m not giving in an inch to fear
‘Cause I promised myself this year
I feel like I owe it to someone

When I finally get myself together
I’m going to get down in that sunny southern weather
And I find a place inside a laugh
Separate the wheat from the chaff
I feel like I owe it to someone

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Dungeons and Dragons, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

