My Life in Gaming

Early Runequest rule book

We played a lot of systems. We went back and bought Original D&D, Chainmail, and Swords & Spells. We bought Traveller, Metamorphasis Alpha, Gamma World, the Arduin Grimoire, AD&D, and others. Then we found Runequest (RQ). Wow. That system was elegant and solved a lot of problems I’d been having with AD&D. Hit locations. More realistic combat. Nice. And it was the first rpg that had a female warrior with decent armor, and she was in full color and on the cover! That was a huge change for the period. After all, it’s still difficult to find drawings of women in decent armor! For a while I was hooked on anything that Chaosium was putting out. Call of Cthulhu (COC) was one of the biggest. We also played Thieve’s World, Stormbringer, Pendragon and others. Those were some great days.

Stormbringer boxed set from Chaosium I loved COC, but I kept coming back to the medieval games. Stormbringer came the closest to my perfect system, because it had that Basic Role-Playing (BRP) system and characters that could summon various powerful creatures from other planes. Still, we didn’t play it much. The adventures felt a bit thin, perhaps because a party of Elrics could mow through anything out there. Parties tended to be a little like what Ars Magica would become, one or two mages and a bunch of grogs. I wanted more game balance than that. But I did love the feel of it. The Frank Brunner art on the cover didn’t hurt either!

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

