Gamma World (1st Edition) Map Generator

2010 06-09 American BarbarianBefore the web, when gamers were on the newsgroups (1990), a bunch of us on rec.games.frp got reinvigorated about an old game called Gamma World (GW) and started posting things again. For my part, I dug up an old supersector generator (a supersector is 144×144 km.). I had built it for my GW campaign around 1978-1979 because my characters started scurrying all over the countryside and I needed to know what was in between the adventures. This system worked pretty well. It would be pretty easy to build a map generator from the charts, so if anyone does that, please let me know. The Official GW Map from 1st edition is online as well, but I really wasn’t paying attention to that. The image to the right is a great web comic that reminds me of Gamma World and Jack Kirby’s Kamandi comics.

1990 Burdick – Gamma world map generator

PS: Here’s an update from 2016 — I’ve now taken the old map generator and created a GW Supersector generator. I added in generators for creatures, mutations, treasures, and cryptic alliances, among other things. I’m not distributing it yet; just wanted to let you know what’s happening with it now!

PPS: In 2017, I was preparing to run a Gamma World campaign and mutated the system and world enough to call it Mutant World. You can see that stuff at https://lostdelights.wordpress.com/category/mutant-world-campaign/

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Gamma World, Mutant World Campaign. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gamma World (1st Edition) Map Generator

  1. Ted Tschopp says:

    Any possibility to get your updated Generator?

    • lostdelights says:

      Not at this time Ted. I put a lot of work into it, and I still have the mistaken idea that I might be able to monetize it. But what I would be willing to do is run you off as many sectors as you like. And I would love to build a world together and could share out the sectors I have created so far. Not for general publication, as I want my players to have the joy of discovery, but so you could see if yours would connect up. How’s that?

      • computervirus99 says:

        Have you considered making it a pay-what-you-want product? That way, you will still be able to make money from it, and it will also still be available for those who are a bit tight on cash.

      • lostdelights says:

        That’s certainly possible. I don’t have any experience doing that though, and I’m very busy with my gaming. It’s more fun for me to keep building stuff. Are you suggesting going to Patreon or something?

  2. computervirus99 says:

    One thing that I did that I will probably not repeat is to use the generator even though I am functioning on a much larger scale. I have a map that has 10 mile hexes, so it seems as though the ruins/settlements/all that stuff just wasn’t close/dense enough. In the future, I’ll probably either A) use the generator multiple times on each sector so that each one has ruins and stuff closer together or B) make the scale smaller.

    • lostdelights says:

      See, I didn’t mind the treasures being far apart, because I always liked the political adventuring that went along with Gamma World (traveling around, building alliances, being involved in various wars). But if that’s what you like, you could certain do that.

      • computervirus99 says:

        I myself am a bit of a newb GM, so I’m not quite sure what I like yet. It seems as though my group may prefer hack and slash/dungeon crawl style games though, so I may build my world to accommodate that style of play.

      • lostdelights says:

        And that is actually very common, so don’t worry about it. I used to do that as well, and enjoyed it heartily. As the years went on, I found myself spending more time on the world creation, and now I find myself moving towards the production of fictional pieces to acclimatize players to the world I’ve created. In other words, I spent a LOT of time on this stuff, much more than a reasonable gamer. But it is a greater joy every year, so I don’t mind spending that amount of time on it. I’m fairly certain that 99% of my players don’t care about that, but I do, so I keep doing it. The key of course, is to do what YOUR players want you to do. Best of luck! 🙂

      • computervirus99 says:

        The reply button for this comment is not showing up so I’ll just reply here:
        “That [making the super sector generator as a pay-what-you-want product] is certainly possible. I don’t have any experience doing that though, and I’m very busy with my gaming. It’s more fun for me to keep building stuff. Are you suggesting going to Patreon or something?”

        I meant more like Drivethrurpg. I’m not entirely certain, but from what I have seen, it looks like putting a product on drivethrurpg is pretty simple. I really don’t know though.

      • lostdelights says:

        Yep, I plan to do that. I prioritizing my time now, as I have a lot of projects I’m working on, but Drivethrurpg is definitely in the plans. I like their structure a lot!

Leave a Reply

