A Grazing Mace

Bishop OdoSung to the tune of Amazing Grace. Author unknown.

A grazing mace, how sweet the sound
That flattens a wretch like thee.
Whose head’s now flat
That once was round;
Done in by my mace and me.
A grazing mace, how sweet the sound
That smites a foe like thee.
You’re lying there
Upon the ground.
You’ve left the field to me.

ALTERNATIVE:

A grazing mace, how sweet the sound,
that felled my foe for me
I bashed his head, he struck the ground,
and thus came victory

Twas my mace taught my foes to fear
My mace my fears relieved
How precious did my mace appear
When I my mace received.

Through many tourneys, wars, and fairs
I have already come;
My mace hath brought me safe thus far,
My mace will bring me home.

The King has promised good to me,
his word my hope secures
I will his shield and weapon be,
when he gives me my spurs

How sweet the fame of knighthood sounds
In all good fighter’s ears;
It soothes their bruises, heals their wounds
It’s just as good as beers.

And when my mace my foeman nails,
that mortal strife shall cease
And we’ll possess within our pale,
a life of joy and peace

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Dungeons and Dragons, Songs and Lyrics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

