Farewell, My Bonnie Scotland, by Cynthia McQuillin (1953-2006)

This is a tune I used to have on tape, but now can’t find anywhere. Too bad — it’s a good song. Thanks Linda, for correcting my memory of the song!

Fare thee well my bonnie Scotland
With your rivers in the gloamin’
No more will we be roamin’
through your woodlands and your moors.
No more will we go walkin’
to the local tavern talkin’
with the maiden who stood waiting
every evening by the door.

The young prince he was bonny
but the redcoats were upon him
before he ever had the chance
to meet his rightful kin
and all those who stood beside him
have all rightly gone to heaven
or been sent to wander always
for the love of Stuart’s dream.

Fare thee well my bonnie Scotland
With your rivers in the gloamin’
No more will we be roamin’
through your woodlands and your moors.
No more will we go walkin’
to the local tavern talkin’
with the maiden who stood waiting
every evening by the door.

I’m going away forever
and I’m never coming home.
Bound out for a new life
and across the world I’ll roam
and if I should live a hundred years
and dream a thousand dreams
not one of them of them would ever be
what your fair memory seems.

Fare thee well my bonnie Scotland
With your rivers in the gloamin’
No more will we be roamin’
through your woodlands and your moors.
No more will we go walkin’
to the local tavern talkin’
with the maiden who stood waiting
every evening by the door.

Information on the artist can be found at Cynthia McQuillin’s page on Wikipedia.

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Songs and Lyrics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Farewell, My Bonnie Scotland, by Cynthia McQuillin (1953-2006)

  1. Linda says:

    I’m not absolutely sure, but I always thought they wandered through woodlands and moors (not fords). Thank you though, for reminding me what the words were to the 2nd verse! I used to have it on tape too. Too bad we can’t get it again!

    • lostdelights says:

      You might be right about the moors. I’ll listen more closely next time! I converted my tape to an mp3, but there is a glitch in it and I’m still searching for a clean mp3 of it.

Leave a Reply

