Gearing up

Plastic Figure HoardI’m gearing up for my next game. After seeing a friend’s Mondomat from Chessex, I’ve got one of those on order. It was strange ordering something I actually had to call about. The web is spoiling me. Miniatures are more of a problem. I have a bunch of old cheap plastic soldiers (Vikings, Knights, etc.) but I can’t find a place to order them these days. If you know of a source, especially for painted ones, please let me know! I got rid of all of my lead miniatures long ago, except for about 20 hand-painted ones I just couldn’t part with, and a bunch of Buck Rogers ones from the 1940s that are just too cool. Apparently they came from a mold that kids could pour themselves (watch out for that molten lead Johnny!) and you can still buy them on Ebay. They’re cheap too, just $4 for Buck, Dr. Huer, and the Depthman from Venus, although the molding job looks pretty poor. I still have a ton of plastic Pokemon and other cheap toys, so I can use some of those for monsters, but I get really tired of explaining that the round blue Pokemon with the yellow tuft is Jerald the Paladin, so instead I ordered about a hundred game pawns of various colors from SkyBluePink. Now I have over 10 of each color, so I can number them and explain that the grey pawns are the Trogs and the yellow ones are the harpies that are circling. “Queen Xina” who distributes them send me a couple extra to make up for the extra postage I sent, which was great.

I finished transferring all the Excel files into Access, which was great because I discovered multiple versions of the files and tables, even though I thought I’d been really careful. I found some lost stuff too (see last post), and I worked for a couple hours on adding material today. My wife has already started working on the C Sharp interface for the databases (Thank Grom I married a programmer!), which already looks pretty cool.

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Gaming Tools & Accessories, Journeyman, Miniatures, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

