The AD&D Experience, Part 2: Module B1, Into the Unknown

I’m unsure where B1 should go in Blackmoor, but that is where I put it. I located it southwest of Ft. Peimar, and put Shady Dragon Inn in the Fort. The game reminded me of a lot of things about AD&D:

1. Character generation takes a long time. I much prefer computer generated characters.
2. Combat is bloody and short. I think that’s why I liked Runequest combat better — I enjoyed that bit more.
3. Mapping the dungeon is long and boring.
4. Map design was whimsical, and did not support a suspension of disbelief or a sense of reality.

By the way, I went off to Dragonsfoot forum for their list of Blackmoor downloads. A lot of them are broken links, as Wizards of the Coast has removed things from their site. If you run into that problem, go to the Internet Archive of those pages. There’s also a number of Ravenloft modules there. In all that searching, I also found some photos of a French run through B1.

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Dungeons and Dragons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

