Game Mats

I saw some new game mats yesterday. They had some of the GaleForce9 battle mats. They were pricy, and had specific designs on each. Do people actually buy different battle mats? The weird thing was that the store carried Chessex dice but not Chessex battlemats, which I think are the best. However, don’t make the mistake I did and “go big or go home.” I ordered a Mondomat without thinking about the size and it is huge! I have to put four tables together to spread the thing out. Great for big battles, but I need to order a megamat now. There’s also Steel Sqwire flip mat, which is like the GaleForce9 mats from what I can tell, but the company says they can handle “Wet Erase, Dry Erase, & Permanent Markers.” Still think I like the Chessex mats better though.

PS: The Mondomat is too wide to use on our dinner table (seats 12!) but it did work great for mapping out a complete dungeon level.

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Dungeons and Dragons, Gaming Tools & Accessories, Journeyman, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

