Game Store Review — Storytellers in Utica, NY

On our trip, we visited a couple of game stores. The first was Storytellers, which was given a favorable review in 2011 by the Utica Observer Dispatch. Storytellers also has a Facebook page.

Unfortunately, my experience was not as rosy. The store moved recently to 214 Oriskany Blvd, Suite 13 (Around back), Whitesboro, NY. There’s no sign on the road, and only a small handwritten sign (about 20×20″) in the window. The inside of the store was in a shambles. There were two guys playing a game and watching pro wrestling on a large screen television. An empty pizza box was behind them, along with a lot of empty packing boxes and a lot of Magic: The Gathering cards strewn on the floor. When we asked to see the rpgs, one guy got up and moved his chair so we could get by in the narrow area and see the solitary bookshelf of rpgs (about 3′ x 6′). It was, unfortunately, the most cluttered, least stocked and most uninviting game store I’ve ever been in. I cannot overemphasize this. It was truly a pit. My daughter had entered the outer door and gone down the corridor before me, and I signaled her to enter the room. She shook her head and the look she gave me told a bit of what I would find inside. Quite a disappointment! This store is capable of scaring people away from the industry, let alone from the store itself.

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Game Stores, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

