How I Killed the Bing Search Engine

St. George vs. BingI don’t know about you, but Bing is the most annoying browser for me. I hate it with a passion and although I set Google search as my homepage, if I typed a keyword in the URL location window in Mozilla Firefox, it kept taking me to Bing. So here’s what I did to slay Bing.

  1. went to firefox plug-ins and disabled Windows Activation Technologies. Not sure that was a good idea, but I was so angry I went on a “Kill Windows” rampage.
  2. deleted Bing from “Search the Web” window. That didn’t do much.
  3. deleted Bing.xml from the Windows Program files directory. Again, not much reaction.
  4. Went to about:config and changed all search browser options to Google (1st, 2nd, & 3rd search option). You’d think this would do it but no, Bing came back.
  5. Went to about:config and searched for “keyword” then right click and selected RESET. That worked. Finally. Hallelujah!

Unfortunately, that Bing default for keyword search probably came from either a service provider (say, one of those hotels I stayed at?) or from a Windows update (truly insidious). So it might come back. But now I know how to get rid of it.

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Fight the Power, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

