Silver Horn (JF Murphy & Salt, 1972)

Back in my college days, a friend of mine had a stack of old LPs. This was on one of them, a live performance by JF Murphy & Salt. I have an mp3 of my old taped version of that LP, but it’s in bad shape. There’s a poor quality version on YouTube, and that may be the only one you can find these days. Here it is:



There’s been many an elbow in many a pub,
That’s many times drunk for this tale.
All the dart games would stop and the room would go hush,
And the teller would sip at his ale.

First he’d finish his pint and perch on the bar,
But he knew he’d never go dry,
While his story was yet to be told.

Twas in a small parish in Balleghadereen,
Many years ago.
They held a church dance to which everyone came,
Except that no fiddlers did show

All the people grew restless and ready to leave,
For a dance is no dance without fiddlers to play,
When all of the sudden appeared at the door,
A young man who had this to say:

Chorus:
“I’ve a silver horn for to play all your songs,
Send all your troubles away.
And all I ask is one fair lass,
Until your night turns to day.”

Well he played on his horn ’till the stroke of twelve,
Then in a green velvet case, he packed it away.
“I’ve played and I’ve played and you’ve danced to my songs,
Now it’s my turn it’s done and it’s your turn to pay.”

The pastor stepped up and puffed out his chest.
He cleared out his throat and proceeded to say,
“We’ll pay you with silver, we’ll pay you with gold,
But nary one girl will you get for your pay.”

The young man said, “Father you don’t understand,
I’m a Leprechaun sent here from fairyland,
We must crown a queen before night turns to day,
Or the wee folk will sadden and soon fade away.”

The priest said, “In that case, you’re no mortal man,
And no damage can you do to her fair reputation.”
So the young man he left with his colleen in hand,
Singing his own incantation:

Chorus:
“I’ve a silver horn for to play all your songs,
Send all your troubles away.
And all I ask is one fair lass,
Until your night turns to day.”



jf murphy & salt, 1972

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Songs and Lyrics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

