Missing Limbs and Magic Items

Flaming Sword Aestaes by ShabazikSo, a lot of work went into the game before this last adventure. My wife made it clear she was tired of having people’s arms and legs hacked off, since the party had to trudge back to town to have it Regenerated at some expense and a further waste of time. As a result, I fiddled with the magic system again, adding another level of Body Control called Body Command. Body Command includes personal Regeneration, allowing players to regrow their own limbs if need be, and also Stop Bleeding, an improvement on Control Blood Flow. Body Control came under a lot of scrutiny, with the result that a number of the spells were renamed, Berserk was added, and Superman was split into the two spells Longer and Stronger. This also made Coordinate Muscles superfluous, so that was removed. Since I was in the area, I went over to the Enchant Skill and realized that the game had actually grown enough that I could detail Magic Items finally. I got out the old magic item list and started reworking it. Magic items now can be created by the players. Enchant can create both matter and energy (although I haven’t got all the energy creation rules worked out yet), and spirits can be used to power a lot of the items. I created a list of all the spirits that could make things fly, with a cost for using each and how much they could lift. As it turns out, Hippogriffs, Manticores and Gargoyles give the best value for flying magic items. I then listed all of the effects that all of the spirits could generate in a magic item, and designed about 10 magic swords as examples. Flaming swords, as it turns out, are a good deal. Only 12,000 p. for a sword that does 1d6 extra damage, can set things on fire, and provides light. Most of the other decent magic items cost about 80,000 p., so flaming swords are a real bargain. My son created about five rings using elements from the table, while I went through our old list of magic items and worked out an equivalent for most of them. All of this gave me a great feeling of satisfaction, as the system seems to be shaping up quite well. My recent foray into AD&D is making me itch to simplify the combat system. I’ll have to think about that for a while though.

The illustration above was a commission that Shabazik did. I really like this one.

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Journeyman, Navah, Navah Campaign. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

