Exploring Nox

Since we didn’t get a chance to rpg this weekend, we did a bunch of Nox. Nox is a game from Electronic Arts in 2000 and allows 2-16 players in the multiplayer game. We did a multiplayer quest, which is a cooperative dungeon crawl similar to Neverwinter Nights and Baldur’s Gate, but MUCH less buggy. It was a lot of fun, and satisfied my need for gaming quite nicely. The game itself is crisp and runs well on our Windows 7 LAN. It was also nice because it felt like an old sprite crawl. I’m really tired of the first person shooters that rule the market (shoot, die, spawn, die again, all with a lot of noise and flying blood). It was a very nice break, even if I did fry a couple lives on the laser traps. You can find videos of the multiplayer gameplay on Youtube (not us, some other folks). But the reason I’m really talking about it was that I spent a bunch of time on the solo game, and got all the way to chapter 10 so far (the land of the dead). There is a very complicated set of teleports there, and I couldn’t find a map of them online, so I made one up. If you like solving puzzles like this, don’t look, but if you found this through a search, I hope it helps!

Oh, I should explain the symbols! I classified the room by the shape of the plinths that surrounded the teleport pad. There were some square ones, round ones, and ones that looked like eyeballs on stakes. The location of the chest, if there was one, was also helpful. When you see a teleport pad that looks like a tatami, you’re almost back to the castle!

Map of teleports in Land of the Dead, from Nox

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Heroic Fantasy, Video Games and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

