French Role-Playing

Dungeon comicsI’ve always enjoyed buying British rpg material. Their fanzines are eclectic, their humor jaded, and their modules tinged with Old World folklore. The French, well, I love Donjon comics of course; I love everything from Joann Sfar. But I haven’t seen a lot of French rpg material. What I have seen I have liked, particularly the art and the maps. I have a couple things from Jeux Descartes, although I can’t remember what right now. Perhaps Malefices? I also love the French term for a rpg gamer — a rôliste. I like that a lot. Some other things you really need to know about are the Guide de Rôliste Galactique (GROG), which is a guide to all rpgs everywhere, or tries to be. The second is La Fédération Française de Jeu de Rôle, which is a French rpg organization. The last is Empire Galactique, a French science fiction rpg which in Traveller terms would be about adventuring at TL17 or 18. Look under the tab labeled Téléchargements to find pdfs of the base rules, expansions, scenarios, and game aids.

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Call of Cthulhu, Dungeons and Dragons, Jeu de rôle (JDR), Thoughts, Traveller. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

