The Master Thief

This drawing was one of my favorites when I was a kid. It’s by Jeffrey Carver, and appeared in Sorceror’s Apprentice magazine, from Flying Buffalo Games. I loved the detail that Carver put into his drawings, and this particular one appealed on a lot of levels. To me the man was a master thief, either a dwarf from Faerie or a human midget, armed with a katana (刀) that’s too big for him. He’s carrying too many weapons, but perhaps that fancy halberd is part of the treasure. If not, he needs to sell it soon — it is just going to get in his way. Other than his choice of weapons, the thief used his brains, and was more interested in maps than in the treasure itself, and he consulted the lich skulls as well.

A master thief consults a map and lich skulls in the dungeon.

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Art, Heroic Fantasy, Tunnels and Trolls. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Master Thief

  1. t@t adict says:

    It is also in the 5th edition of the tunnels and and trolls rule book.

    • lostdelights says:

      Great! I always loved T&T’s art, and I have a nearly complete collection of Sorceror’s Apprentice because of that. You know, Liz Danforth has a website and is still posting art there. I haven’t found a page for Jeffrey Carver yet, but have several of the games he illustrated (including pieces for the Arduin Grimoire).

Leave a Reply

