Greyhawk, Again!

My old Pathfinder DM moved away, but I’ve finally hooked up with another gaming group and DM, this time playing in Greyhawk. That takes me back! I haven’t played in that world since about 1982, although I’ve of course used the various adventure modules in a variety of different settings (and systems). It feels good to be back — there’s a lot of background material on the world, starting with the original Greyhawk book in 1975 up through 1st ed. AD&D and then 3.5, and then d20. Aside from all of the various resources, I was truly delighted to find Anna B. Meyer and her Atlas of the Flanaess project. It is sweeping in scope and gorgeous in results. Simply put, she’s mapping all of Flanaess and she’s close to a first draft of the whole world. Her maps are the definitive version of the world of Greyhawk.

Oh, and my current character is Jarik Loretongue (1st level grey elven wizard-evoker), the 5th son of Grayn Goldenmead, owner and proprietor of “The Jewel of the River,” an inn on the western side of the Jewel River just south of the Welkwood. Drop on by for some of my father’s famous mead, the last you will have before crossing into the Pomarj. For myself, life in Celene is too boring so I’ve gone north to Greyhawk City to seek my fortune. My companions are doughty, if somewhat suspect in character, and profit is uppermost on all of our minds.

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Dungeons and Dragons, Greyhawk, Pathfinder. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

