Pronouncing Smaug’s Name Wrong

And now for something completely nerdy. Peter Jackson’s minions are mispronouncing Smaug’s name. See below.

Boy, that’s annoying. Everyone everywhere has always called Smaug “smog,” an early 20th century (or late 19th century) word combining “smoke” and “fog” to describe the pollutant haze laying over industrial cities. Makes sense as a name for a dragon, right? If you happen to be in the test audience, boo whenever they say “sma-oog” and help preserve our childhood memories. Let’s hear it once again. Let your annoyance show. Come to the dark side… oh, wait, wrong movie.

Here’s a dude who seems to share my annoyance.

Please weigh in on this. Am I the uber-dork for refusing to pronounce it “correctly” or like me, do you have a basic urge to shove a dwarven axe into the nards of anyone saying it however they are trying to say it?

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Heroic Fantasy, Middle Earth, Monsters, Movies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pronouncing Smaug’s Name Wrong

  1. Ray says:

    I thought maybe they knew something that i didn’t know, like i’d be mispronouncing it my whole life. Now I’m kind of annoyed that they made me doubt myself. So Jackson is also the world’s authority on Tolkien pronunciations? Thanks for bringing this up. It’s causing a rift in our family.

    • lostdelights says:

      I’m with you on this Ray. Anything that destroys joyful childhood memories needs to pass a higher bar than “I think the Old English would have pronounced it differently.” We always need to reexamine the prejudices of our youth that might do harm to others (i.e. racism, sexism, etc.) but I think the Old English are past caring.

  2. Ray says:

    Curses…

    btw, love your blog. Found it randomly last year, been reading ever since 🙂

Leave a Reply

