David Trampier (1954-2014)

David Trampier passed away this year on Mar. 24, 2014. You’ll find a lot about him at Wikipedia. His obituary can be seen at http://thesouthern.com/news/local/obituaries/david-trampier/article_e5b7b0bf-f9f8-500a-9b5e-2a3194c214e9.html. Castle Perilous Games & Books is located in Carbondale, Illinois, and actually had contact with Dave. They even have a gallery of some of his artwork (some well known, some not) at the store, where they are for sale.

There’s lots on the web right now about this, so let me just say that I always hoped Dave would continue his artwork. He was one of my favorite artists and he got better and better until he stopped altogether. A good bit of my time has been spent gathering what digital versions of his art that I could, including a huge scan of his DM’s screen and a complete collection of the Wormy comics. I toyed with the idea of running a campaign in Wormy’s world, but it seemed so intimately tied to Dave that I couldn’t bring myself to do so. It seemed sacrilegious in a way. Rest in peace Dave, and thanks!

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Art, Dungeons and Dragons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

