Recreating my World in Fractal Terrains 3, part 1

TheWorlde2014I’ve been running my campaign world since about 1982, and I’ve continuously refined the creatures, magic, people. Lately I’ve been unhappy with my world design from back then, as it was heavily influenced by Earth. I generated about 60 solar systems with my brother’s StarGen program and bought Fractal Terrains 3. Then I entered the circumference and hydrographics, and spent some time redesigning the world. I like the result. I have bitmaps of the finished world, rotating gifs, and a KMZ file on which I’ll be mapping the world. The KMZ is not a high definition world, and gets pixelated as one zooms in, so if someone knows how to input a much more defined world, please let me know. Here’s some of the tools I used:

  1. Jim Burrows’ WinStarGen, an upgraded version of my brother’s old solar system generator using Bode’s Law.
  2. An animated gif plug-in for Paint.net
  3. J. Slayton’s Tutorial for the Cartographer’s Guild on how to construct a world in Fractal Terrains.
  4. Codeplex on Fractal Terrains to Google (actually, this has gotten easier, as it is now built into FT3)
About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Gaming Tools & Accessories, Journeyman, Maps, Navah, Navah Campaign. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

