Party Games — Treasure Hunts, Scavenger Hunts, Mysteries

When my kids were between 8 and 12, they loved games, and we used to create either our own boardgames or play some sort of treasure hunt, scavenger hunt, riddle, or puzzle. This also made a great birthday party activity, because then all their friends would be there and could play too. I did this for one of my son’s parties when we went to a park where I handed out a treasure map, so they could try to solve it and find the treasure, which was the party location (a rented shelter) and the cake. There’s lots of resources for these, and of course they can be incorporated into your rpgs too. There are commercial murder mystery party games that you can purchase, such as University Games, My Mystery Party, Dinner and a Murder, Night of Mystery, and probably a lot others. They range from about $15 to over $100. These seemed too much trouble to me, and not playful enough. There are also numerous sites out there where people have shared their ideas for parties for their kids. There is one on treasure hunts like I used to love. One of the favorite sites I found when I started looking was at a blog called Ikat Bag, that detailed a mystery game about missing cars that she put together for her daughter. Very nice! Another mom put together a Mall Mission scavenger hunt. There’s a Pinterest site on Treasure Hunt Birthdays

Treasure Hunt Illustration by Jean Marzollo

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Games, Parents of Gamers, Treasure Hunts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

