Hero Forge Custom Miniatures

Image capture from Hero ForgeA friend steered me to Hero Forge, a Kickstarted miniatures company that allows you to design your own character and then order a 3d printed version in ultra detailed hard plastic. They are available in 30 mm ($25), 3″ tall ($80) or 6″ tall ($245), all suitable for painting. I tried it out and came up with the elf mage at the right. I like the design, solid and simple but with enough range for customization that each figure can be a little different. The price is high for a miniature, but not for a custom figure. Seems like a good deal to me!

same image after some work on Paint.netSince I really don’t use miniatures any more, I also like the way they worked the copyright. You are allowed to download screenshots for personal, non-commercial use (only!), which includes “networked and public viewing viewing such as on social media.” Nice! This means that I can create a character image, then save it to Paint.net, and paint it up as a miniature for my online games. At the right is what I came up with after a couple hours of work. Not something I would do everyday, but for a valued character I might (and did!).

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Art, Gaming Tools & Accessories, Heroic Fantasy, Miniatures. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hero Forge Custom Miniatures

  1. Rudderbutt Cosplays says:

    How did you color in the screenshot image of your custom character? I have paint.net too and wanted to color in some of my screenshots of my characters, but don’t know how, could you help me out?

    Thanks 🙂

    • lostdelights says:

      Which one? I just create a new layer and erase everything but what I want to color. Then I adjust the color on just that layer until it is the way I want it, save it (so I can change it later if I want) and then flatten the image again and save as a PNG. I use new layers to do other things like add different equipment, straighten bent staves, remove elf ears (there’s a lot of great miniatures out there but way too many with elf ears), and change the angle of the weapon arm (I try to keep the miniatures fairly compact and often a good miniature in lead has its arm extended, whereas a good miniature in PNG has to have it bent so it doesn’t take up too much space). I’m aiming at 120 dpi, 200 pixels square with a 3 point white surround. Let me know if you come up with some good stuff — I’d love to see it.

Leave a Reply

