Mapping Anthavar, the City of Lions

My Navah campaign begins in Anthavar, the capital of the Anthavarn Empire, also known as the City of Lions. After trying a few different mapping solutions, I ended up mapping it on Paint.net. That allowed me to have a variety of layers (sewers, brothels, inns, covenants, streets, alleys, thief ways, buildings, house numbers, water, and districts) that I could turn on or off depending on the level of map knowledge I was sharing with the players. The disadvantage is that Paint.Net is limited as to the size of the file used, so I could only map one district at a time with that detail. Making a map of the city as a whole meant I would have to print each district as a PNG and then piece it together as a new, larger PNG, which proved to be right at the edge of that memory limit again, as each new district had to be added as a new layer, then merged down after it was fitted. Thankfully, I didn’t run out of memory before I was done, so here’s my first version of the player’s map for the city. The Maze looks pretty unorganized, but it actually includes a lot of alleys and other alternate routes from street to street. One has to be a resident of the Maze to know them, and then there are routes taken by members of the Thieves’ Guild that are only known to them.

Large Anthavar city Player's Map with Grid

Click on the map to see it full-size.

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Gaming Tools & Accessories, Journeyman, Maps, Navah Campaign. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

