Revisiting Gamma World

I’m preparing to run a Gamma World campaign on Roll20, so I’ve been reading the game pretty deeply. My initial idea was to run a 1st edition game, because I loved the feel of it, but more and more I’m leaning towards 4th edition, though I still need to read the rules in full. On the other hand, both systems need a lot of work to get to a campaign. About a third of the “monsters” are actually mutated humanoids or mutated animals, and should instead be listed in the populations the players might encounter. Almost all of the mutated animals have hands and are humanoid, which is pretty ridiculous. It reminds me of Flesh Garden, Wally Wood’s parody of Flash Gordon in Mad Magazine.

Mad 011 Wally Wood 004

So  I’ll change a bunch of the animals. Not canon, but it will work better in the long run. I’m creating an Excel sheet that will generator sectors and supersectors and populate them with sites and peoples. My wife is editing her Access file for creating settlements, and I’m adding technology and creatures to that. Should be good in the long term, but it’s a lot more work than I was planning on initially.

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Gamma World, Mutant World Campaign, Science Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

