The Cartoons that Shaped my Childhood

My role-playing (and my brain for that matter!) were shaped by the cartoons of my childhood. Most of those you probably know: Spiderman, Star Trek, Space:1999, and of course the classic Looney Tunes, for example:

and of course, “I guess I’ll have to eat you without Ketchup” from Hyde and Go Tweet.

There’s other, less remembered shows, like The Friendly Giant (1958-1985). “Look up, look waaaay up.”

But there’s one show that no-one else I’ve ever met remembers, Rocket Robin Hood (1966-1969).  I can still sing the opening, found here:

However, you probably know the director of the show, for it was Ralph Bakshi, who also did Fritz the Cat, Lord of the Rings, and Wizards. I’m dismayed that some gamers now don’t know of Wizards (1977). Wizards had some great bits, and a lot of boring ones. Here’s a couple of the good ones:

and the final scene, which was great, but don’t watch if if you’re going to watch the movie.

Are there any I’m forgetting?

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Movies, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

