Ruined City Generator

Playing the Mutant World sandbox campaign, I needed a generator for ancient ruins. Thankfully, a good one exists at http://wizardawn.and-mag.com/tool_acity.php  It generates a ruined city map from geomorphs created by Amanda Michaels for Dave’s Mapper (see the list of city generators at that site), and assigns numbers to each of the buildings (I haven’t figured out how they did that yet; very cool, so if you know, please let me know). Even better, you can use the Mutant Adventure generator and it creates descriptions for the buildings, monsters, etc. Nice! I used it last week and it saved me when the players when west instead of east. But of course it wasn’t exactly what I wanted, so I spent the last week creating my own Excel-based generator for the contents of the buildings. I’ll still use the Ruined City Maps, but I’ll use my own descriptions. Some of the things I put in there were:

  • Condition of building, along with detritus found within.
  • Monsters (including robots, synths, cyborgs, and androids), both primary and incidental (wasps, rats, etc.) found in the buildings.
  • Vehicles (commercial, personal, and sport) found abandoned near the buildings (including condition of the various parts — engine, brain, gravitics, vocalizer, communications).
  • Treasure and junk found in the buildings, along with condition.

And here’s an example of the results:

1 Three walls are broken, ceiling is collapsed. Detritus includes Shrubs.
2 One wall is broken. Detritus includes Pile of bones.
3 Pristine, with hermetically sealed door.  .     You find Baby mobile with deer and arrows (Needs minor repair). Dabber
4 One wall is broken. Detritus includes Centipedes.     You find motion sensor, wall mounted (Needs significant repair).
5 Two walls are broken. Detritus includes Wasp nests.     You find air mattress (Needs major repair).
6 Ceiling is collapsed. Detritus includes Wasp nests.     You find 10d100 plastic packets of Krott Oil, still pungent (Needs minor repair). Blight Venomwing

Not a very clean report, but it does the job for me and includes a lot of extras that I wanted in my game.  I’m looking forward to using on Sunday!

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Maps, Mutant World Campaign, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

