Rolisteam – A Nice Virtual Tabletop

More and more I learn how much the gaming community has matured, largely through the wonderful projects that I stumble across. When doing one of my periodic searches for roleplaying materials in French (search for “Jeux de roles” if you are interested), I came across an image for Rolisteam. It is a virtual tabletop you download to your computer and then you run from there. I have used Roll20 quite a lot in the past years and while I love it, I already see some things I like better in Rolisteam, even though I haven’t used it to play. First of all, it is dependent on my computing set-up, which I love. That means that the music backgrounds do not have to be limited by the same licenses that Roll20 is. I have a huge collection of music, and now I can use selected clips from AC/DC, Jeff Wayne, Wagner, and anything else I want. Lovely! It has a map drawing tool and chat window. One doesn’t have to worry about the memory limits imposed by a free account in Roll20 (I’m cheap, ok?). The players or DM can open any picture online or on their own computer, which is great. The downsides I see so far are:

  1. No audio or video chat (that’s ok, I use Skype for that)
  2. No distance calculator
  3. One has to add hex grids to one’s own maps before uploading them
  4. and biggest of all, I can’t figure out how to add a png of a character. All I can do right now is upload an image on top of the map and then move it around. Roll20 does that a lot nicer.

Still, it is a nice free tool to add to your toolbox. Please let me know what you learn from using this — I’m doing face-to-face tabletops right now, but who knows when I’ll need virtual again!

 

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Gaming Tools & Accessories, Maps, Roll20. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

