Stone are My Walls

I got into an argument with the missus, who claimed that the performances on the Shai Dorsai! CD were different from those on the Songs of the Dorsai album from 1983. I claimed they were exactly the same and used Jacques Chretien as an example, but she insisted that some of them were different. An hour of surfing later, I think she was right. Some of the performances are definitely the same, but there are others on the web who agree with my wife. Apparently there was an acrimonious break-up of the group that put out the first CD that may have rendered it difficult to use some of the original performances. And I’m sure a few were remastered in hopes of improving them. At any rate, here’s one of our favorite songs from that first CD. Music and Lyrics by Ann Cass.

Stone are my walls, and my roof is of timber,
But the hands of my builder are stronger by far.
The roof may be burned and my stones may be scattered,
But never her light be defeated in war.

I am the heart and the core of the Morgans.
Many the battle, around me, was fought.
Many the year has gone by since my building.
Each of my stones, by a life, has been bought.

Long was the work and hard was the building
From under the hill and the forest so wide.
My stone, that is piled in the place of her choosing,
Is mortared with bone of the men who have died.

Blood paid the price of this hill that I rest on
And blood pays the price of these lands that I see.
The price; it is fair for the rights that it purchased.
Within my gray walls, ye shall ever stand free.

I am the heart and the core of the Morgans.
Amanda; she built me and I shall remain
A home for the heart of the men that may leave me;
A beacon for bearing their way home again.

Stone are my walls and my roof is of timber,
But the hands of my builder are stronger by far.
The roof may be burned and my stones may be scattered,
But never her light be defeated in war.

PS: I got hooked on these songs when I went to a science fiction and wargaming convention in South Bend, Indiana, in 1980. Robert Asprin (1946-2008), a member of the Dorsai Irregulars, was the guest speaker and he invited everyone up to the Presidential Suite on Saturday night to drink his liquor and sing Dorsai songs. As a 17 year old kid, that was a pretty awesome experience, and it left its mark. Thank you sir!

Songs of the Dorsai cassette tape cover, by Kelly Freas 1983

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Songs and Lyrics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

