In which I finally discover Warhammer

I’ve had some Warhammer RPG (1st edition) stuff for a long time, and never really bothered to read it. It was one of those things I bought when I had more money (before children!) and loads of time. I bought it largely because I liked the art. Well, I finally started reading through it, and I like it more than I thought I would. Not so much for the system yet; that looks much like AD&D with the same races, alignments, and most of the stats. Instead of CHA, they have Leadership, Cool, and Fellowship. They use a skill matrix like Basic Role-playing, but one rolls for their skills and skills are more like traits than BRP’s skills. Warhammer also has a variety of character types that are like the classes in Talisman.

I do love their section on Old World buildings, which are quite charming and start on p. 328. I’ve seen that artist’s work before in White Dwarf and elsewhere, so it is great to see more of it.

What I really love about Warhammer is that it has some great writing in their examples of play, and in their modules, and that makes them eminently suited for adaption to my own campaign. Campaigns like Enemy Within and the Doomstones seem well-crafted and usable for thoughtful gamers. I look forward to reading more!

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Journeyman, Warhammer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

