Changes to the Navah Rules

Once again, one of my players (Jack) has cleverly found a way to use the existing rules; so clever in fact, that I’m changing them again.

Domination and Transmogrification said they lasted for 1d6 turns rather than the 1d6 rounds I intended, so I’ve changed those back to my original intent. To reduce the sting of this change, I’m adding a critical roll effect for both Domination and Transmogrification, namely:

CRITICAL: Add +3 to your Shakti for Enchant or for your Shakti vs. Shakti roll. Alternately, you could add 3 rounds to the time of effect for Control Emotion & Control Person.

There is no need to use Transmogrification to restore lost limbs, as that is now handled by RESTORATION/Heal Grim Wounds. Also, since Enchant requires the loss of a stat point, I’ve also removed the idea of Transmogrification as an Imperial punishment. It just doesn’t fit with the rules.

Transmogrification now reads:

TRANSMOGRIFICATION

[Prereq: Transform & Sorcery]

“Ihlhehsihmllrihllihz sihnkhih”

TIME = 2 x (10‑Skill) seconds

Minimum time = 5 seconds

Allows the mage to turn princes into frogs, cats into women, etc., but the mage must make a Shakti vs. 2xShakti roll, which is ignored for a willing recipient. The spell might be used to get a scout past a barrier by turning him into a mouse or bird, or to carry the mage to safety by turning an NPC into a horse. It might also be used to extend someone’s life, as tortoises and other creatures live longer than do humans.

The Transmogrification will last for 1d6 rounds after the mage stops concentrating on the spell or after the mage loses sight of the target. Like any spell, it can be made permanent by using Enchanting.

About lostdelights

An old gamer flying his freak flag, I've been playing table-top role-playing games since 1978. I've been building my own system (Journeyman) since 1981.
This entry was posted in Navah, Navah Campaign. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment